Conway scores second win on the streets of Long Beach

IndyCar, IndyCar News/Releases, INDYCAR PR — By on April 13, 2014 9:30 pm

[Source: INDYCAR press release]


[Note: For the full results, statistic reports, and post-race point standings, visit the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach Event Summary.]

LONG BEACH, Calif. (Sunday, April 13, 2014) – Long Beach could have a new king.

Mike Conway won the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach for the second time in four years, becoming the unexpected winner of the 40th annual race.

Ryan Hunter-Reay dominated most of the race, but he triggered a seven-car accident 24 laps from the finish when he tried to overtake Josef Newgarden. The incident eliminated both Hunter-Reay and Andretti Autosport driver James Hinchcliffe – who were running 1-2 — as well as Newgarden, rookie Jack Hawksworth and Tony Kanaan.

The accident opened the door for Scott Dixon to win at Long Beach for the first time. But he was short on fuel by roughly half a lap and stopped for a splash of E85 with two laps to go. That gave Conway the lead, and the British driver cruised to his third career victory.

Will Power finished less than a second behind Conway with rookie Carlos Munoz third and Juan Pablo Montoya fourth. Simon Pagenaud finished fifth after rebounding from an early race spin after contact by Power.

Power has a sizable points lead (93-66 over Conway) heading to the April 27 race at Barber Motorsports Park, where he has won twice and started on the pole twice. Hunter-Reay is the defending race winner.


This is Mike Conway’s first win of 2014 and the third win of his Indy car career. His first win came here in Long Beach in 2011. He also won at Belle Isle-1 in Detroit in 2013.

This is Ed Carpenter Racing’s second win in the Verizon IndyCar Series. It previously won with Ed Carpenter Racing at Auto Club Speedway in 2012.

Will Power finished second, his second podium finish of 2014 and his sixth podium finish in nine starts at Long Beach.

Power has now finished either first or second in last four IndyCar Series races and is the current points leader with 93 points.

Carlos Munoz finished third, his second podium in five Verizon IndyCar Series starts. He previously finished on the podium at Indianapolis where he finished second.

Juan Pablo Montoya finished a season-best fourth, his second top-five finish in three starts at Long Beach.

Simon Pagenaud finished fifth, his second top-five finish at Long Beach in four starts.

NEXT PAGE: Quotes from every driver in the field at the 2014 Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach

Pages: 1 2 3 4

Tags: , ,