EVENT SUMMARY: 2013 Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston

2013 Season, Event Summaries — By on October 1, 2013 9:38 am
Tweet about this on Twitter13Share on Facebook6Share on Google+1Share on Reddit0Share on LinkedIn1Email this to someone

More Front Wing supports Dyslexia Institute of Indiana. Click to donate!
Why is this banner here? Click to find out!

*

2013 Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston
Saturday, October 5/Sunday, October 6, 2013

Race 2 Winner: Will Power
Official box score – View PDF

Race 1 Winner: Scott Dixon
Official box score – View PDF

Post-race analysis, race 2 »
Post-race point standings, race 2 »
Post-race analysis, race 1 »
Post-race point standings, race 1 »
Important times »
Track facts »
Entrant facts »
History »
Session times »
Pre-race point standings »
*

POST-RACE ANALYSIS, RACE 2

Box score: View PDF
Lap chart: View PDF
Tire use chart: View JPG
Leader lap summary: View PDF
Pit stop summary: View PDF

*

POST-RACE POINT STANDINGS, RACE 2

Driver standings:

Rank Car Driver Points
1 9 Scott Dixon 546
2 3 Helio Castroneves 521
3 77 Simon Pagenaud 491
4 19 Justin Wilson 460
5 25 Marco Andretti 457
6 1 Ryan Hunter-Reay 446
7 12 Will Power 444
8 10 Dario Franchitti 418
9 27 James Hinchcliffe 417
10 83 Charlie Kimball 406
11 11 Tony Kanaan 361
12 7 Sebastien Bourdais 351
13 5 EJ Viso 340
14 78 Simona de Silvestro 338
14 67 Josef Newgarden 338
16 14 Takuma Sato 309
17 15 Graham Rahal 304
18 20 Ed Carpenter 292
19 16 James Jakes 285
20 55 Tristan Vautier 257
21 6 Sebastian Saavedra 230
22 22/4 Oriol Servia 222
23 17/18 Mike Conway 185
24 98 Alex Tagliani 163
25 8/4 Ryan Briscoe 100
26 4/98 JR Hildebrand 93
27 18 Ana Beatriz 72
28 26 Carlos Muñoz 67
29 2 AJ Allmendinger 65
30 98 Luca Filippi 53
31 63/18 Pippa Mann 29
32 18 James Davison 27
33 18 Stefan Wilson 14
34 41 Conor Daly 11
35 60 Townsend Bell 10
36 91 Buddy Lazier 8
36 81 Katherine Legge 8
36 97 Lucas Luhr 8

*

Manufacturer standings:

Rank Manufacturer Points
1 Chevrolet 135
2 Honda 135

*

Top-five finisher bonus winnings (unofficial tally):

Rank Car Driver Payout
1 9 Scott Dixon $230,000
2 1 Ryan Hunter-Reay $155,000
3 3 Helio Castroneves $140,000
4 27 James Hinchcliffe $135,000
5 12 Will Power $130,000
6 10 Dario Franchitti $120,000
6 77 Simon Pagenaud $120,000
8 19 Justin Wilson $115,000
9 25 Marco Andretti $80,000
10 7 Sebastien Bourdais $75,000
10 83 Charlie Kimball $75,000
12 11 Tony Kanaan $65,000
13 14 Takuma Sato $60,000
14 18 Mike Conway $55,000
14 67 Josef Newgarden $55,000
16 78 Simona de Silvestro $35,000
16 15 Graham Rahal $35,000
18 20 Ed Carpenter $30,000
19 16 James Jakes $25,000
19 5 EJ Viso $25,000
21 22 Oriol Servia $15,000
22 4 JR Hildebrand $10,000

*

Non-Leaders Circle entry winnings (unofficial tally):

Rank Car Team Payout
1 55 Schmidt Peterson Motorsports $585,000
2 16 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing $555,000
3 6 Dragon Racing $550,000
4 2 Penske Racing $65,000
5 97 Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing $30,000
6 26 Andretti Autosport $25,000

*

POST-RACE ANALYSIS, RACE 1

Box score: View PDF
Lap chart: View PDF
Tire use chart: View JPG
Leader lap summary: View PDF
Pit stop summary: View PDF

*

POST-RACE POINT STANDINGS, RACE 1

Driver standings:

Rank Car Driver Points
1 3 Helio Castroneves 513
2 9 Scott Dixon 505
3 77 Simon Pagenaud 463
4 25 Marco Andretti 447
5 1 Ryan Hunter-Reay 437
6 19 Justin Wilson 428
7 10 Dario Franchitti 403
8 12 Will Power 391
9 27 James Hinchcliffe 382
9 83 Charlie Kimball 382
11 11 Tony Kanaan 355
12 5 EJ Viso 326
13 7 Sebastien Bourdais 321
13 67 Josef Newgarden 321
15 78 Simona de Silvestro 318
16 14 Takuma Sato 293
17 15 Graham Rahal 292
18 20 Ed Carpenter 284
19 16 James Jakes 272
20 55 Tristan Vautier (R) 238
21 6 Sebastian Saavedra 212
22 22/4 Oriol Servia 196
23 17/18 Mike Conway 163
23 98 Alex Tagliani 163
25 8/4 Ryan Briscoe 100
26 4/98 JR Hildebrand 93
27 18 Ana Beatriz 72
28 26 Carlos Muñoz 67
29 2 AJ Allmendinger 65
30 98 Luca Filippi 42
31 63/18 Pippa Mann 29
32 18 James Davison 27
33 18 Stefan Wilson 14
34 41 Conor Daly 11
35 60 Townsend Bell 10
36 91 Buddy Lazier 8
36 81 Katherine Legge 8
36 97 Lucas Luhr 8

*

Manufacturer standings:

Rank Manufacturer Points
1 Honda 129
2 Chevrolet 126

*

Top-five finisher bonus winnings (unofficial tally):

Rank Car Driver Payout
1 9 Scott Dixon $205,000
2 1 Ryan Hunter-Reay $155,000
3 3 Helio Castroneves $140,000
4 10 Dario Franchitti $120,000
4 77 Simon Pagenaud $120,000
6 27 James Hinchcliffe $115,000
7 19 Justin Wilson $100,000
8 12 Will Power $95,000
9 25 Marco Andretti $80,000
10 83 Charlie Kimball $75,000
11 7 Sebastien Bourdais $65,000
11 11 Tony Kanaan $65,000
13 14 Takuma Sato $60,000
14 18 Mike Conway $55,000
14 67 Josef Newgarden $55,000
16 78 Simona de Silvestro $35,000
16 15 Graham Rahal $35,000
18 20 Ed Carpenter $30,000
19 16 James Jakes $25,000
19 5 EJ Viso $25,000
21 22 Oriol Servia $15,000
22 4 JR Hildebrand $10,000

*

Non-Leaders Circle entry winnings (unofficial tally):

Rank Car Team Payout
1 55 Schmidt Peterson Motorsports $545,000
2 16 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing $525,000
3 6 Dragon Racing $515,000
4 2 Penske Racing $65,000
5 97 Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing $30,000
6 26 Andretti Autosport $25,000

*

IMPORTANT TIMES

** REVISED due to track repair delays on Friday

Green flag: Saturday: 3:40 PM EDT*; Sunday: 1:40 PM EDT**
Race broadcast: Saturday: 3:00 PM EDT on NBC Sports Network
Sunday: 1:00 PM EDT on NBC Sports Network
(ends with 1 hr Firestone Indy Lights race)
Qualifying: Race 1: 12:25-12:55 PM EDT Saturday
(Not in Firestone Fast 6 format due to delays; NBCSN broadcast 7 PM EDT Friday will feature updates and interviews)
Race 2: 9:45-10:15 AM EDT Sunday (CANCELLED due to rain)
(No TV broadcast)
Practice sessions: 2:00-2:45 PM EDT Friday
5:30-6:15 PM EDT Friday
11:00-11:10 AM EDT Saturday
Drivers meeting: 10:00 AM EDT Saturday
Live stream on INDYCAR ’13
Full weekend schedule: View PDF
Radio/live timing and scoring: INDYCAR Race Control

*2:40 PM CDT (local) , 1:40 PM MDT, 12:40 PM PDT, 4:40 PM BRT, 7:40 PM GMT, 8:40 AM Sun NZDT, 6:40 AM Sun AEDT, 4:40 AM Sun JST
*12:40 PM CDT (local), 11:40 AM MDT, 10:40 AM PDT, 2:40 PM BRT, 5:40 PM GMT, 6:40 AM Mon NZDT, 4:40 AM Mon AEDT, 2:40 AM Mon JST

*

TRACK FACTS

Track type: Temporary street course
(MD Anderson Cancer Center Speedway at Reliant Park)
Length: 1.683 miles
Race distance: Two races, 90 laps (153 miles) each
Number of turns: 10
Track map: View PNG
Start: Race 1: Standing
Race 2: STANDING (Revised from rolling due to track conditions)
Restarts: Double-file
Event Twitter account and hashtag: @GPHOU, #gphou
Weather forecast: